The Bridges of City Island

In December our family went to Harrisburg PA to attend the annual Farm Show. On the way back home we stopped at City Island, an island on the Susquehanna that is between the West Shore and Harrisburg. Currently there are 5 bridges that would take you from the West Short into downtown Harrisburg. There were six bridges that crossed the Susquehanna River until 1996 when flooding caused portions of the Walnut Street Bridge to collapse. The Walnut Street Bridge is a truss bridge which was built in 1890 and it is the oldest remaining bridge in Harrisburg PA. From where I was I could actually see 4 of the 6 bridges. The pictures below are of the Market Street Bridge which is a stone arch bridge and the Walnut Street Bridge.

The Walnut Street Bridge

The Market Street and Walnut Street Bridges

10 thoughts on “The Bridges of City Island

  1. Ya know…as many times as I have been in, through, and around Harrisburg I have never been to City Island. Great photos of the bridges and I really like the perspective you chose for the last shot!!! The colors of the stone really make the photo work!!!

  2. Beautiful. (Are they HDR?)

    I really like the 2nd and last ones. The 2nd invites me into the scene and the last provides a different perspective as many people would simply shoot straight on, rather than from the side. In addition, the second arch invites me to explore further. Therefore, thank you for the invitations.

  3. I went back through some of your posts and you have some gorgeous photography. I love your images at the fort. And you bird images. And your bridge images, especially the B&W. Phew, so much to enjoy. I was looking to subscribe and I did not find where. I would love not to miss a post.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I am actually looking at your “Old Fort Niagara Pics 2” right now and I am blown away by the your images. Photos 1,4,6,12,13.. Wow and that is only referencing one of your blog posts. We have nothing on you yet!

Leave a comment