Our New Family Member

In a previous post I mentioned that we have had a visitor stop by almost daily over the last two weeks. Well yesterday morning my wife found the cat at our doorstep when she left for work. I found myself thinking about her throughout the day wondering if he was okay. The one thing I also noticed during the visits this week is that she no longer had her collar on. Previously my daughter mentioned that all of the kids in the neighborhood know who’s cat it is because it belonged to my daughters class mate. She had also mentioned that the little girls dad did not want the cat.

Last night after coming home from trick or treating in historic Ellicott City we found her hanging out near our house again. So we let him in and after talking to my wife and children I decided I was going to talk to the little girls father about the cat. I met with him and he explained that the cat was brought over to the house a few weeks ago by his ex-wife and he never wanted the cat so he let her out in hopes that someone would take her. He also mentioned that she is only three months old. Well I was a little irritated because I figure that he should have known he could have taken the little guy to a shelter or something instead of having her roam the neighborhood. In any case I told him that we will take the cat and 30 minutes later I found myself visiting a Petsmart for the first time in my life. I spent far more money than I thought I would have but I figured it was for a good cause. You could fit 3 cats in her litter box comfortably :-). When I told my wife what I spent she looked at me cross-eyed and told me they took me the bank. I clearly remember telling her that she should have went because I had no idea what to get…..

The clerk at the store mentioned that we should bathe the cat right away and boy was that an experience. I thought she was going to have a heart attack the way she squirmed and cried while we shampooed her fur. The poor thing was traumatized so we wrapped her in a towel and held her for the next 15 minutes. Like I mentioned in a previous post I never thought of myself owning a pet before but this little cat has such a warm and loving personality. My daughter loves her already and my son, lets just say he is a little leery due to previous experiences he had as a toddler but he is coming around. Earlier this morning while I was still in bed “Autumn” hopped up and laid down next to me and fell asleep. I find it fitting that the kids named her Autumn :-).

16 thoughts on “Our New Family Member

  1. Oh dear, you did great. She is a lovely one and I am sure you will all love more than now… Autumn welcome to a wonderful family. Dear Marcus, you should take her to the vet cliniq and to have her important vaccines… What a beautiful and lovely photographs you captured. I watched them with tears (because of my emotional part…) Thank you, Blessing and Happiness to you all, love, nia

    • :-). Thanks NIa. We will be taking to her to the vet very soon actually. I am googling information about taking care of a cat as we speak. I am happy to be off today so that I can do what needs to be done… I hope you have a wonderful weekend 🙂

  2. What fantastic photos! And what a great thing you have done in adopting this kitty. I love the expression on your wife’s face in that first photo…just a little hint of hesitation?

    • Maralee… She has stolen all of our hearts.. She is playful, friendly and surprisingly quiet.. The only time she has made a peep was during her bath.. Four days ago this would have been the last thing on our minds. Now I could not imagine her not being a part of our family.. 🙂

  3. Autumn, I love her already 🙂 What a little sweetheart! I’m so glad you gave her a home, I can’t believe people let animals they don’t want just wander neighborhoods hoping someone will pick them up. So happy for you guys, cats are a great starter pet for families 🙂 She photographs beautifully, as you know, I’m a cat lover lol! I hope to see more posts of her beautiful face soon

Leave a Reply

