Day One at the El Dorado Resort & Spa

Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away
If you can use some exotic booze
There’s a bar in far Bombay
Come on and fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away

Weather-wise it’s such a lovely day
Just say the words and we’ll beat the birds
Down to Acapulco Bay
It’s perfect for a flying honeymoon, they say
Come fly with me, let’s fly, let’s fly away

Can you tell this song by the great Frank Sinatra was in my head while working on this blog post . How do I know this song? Blame my grandmother because she was a big fan of Mr Blue Eyes. I remember the story of her meeting him in Europe sometime in the 70’s because over time I heard that story a lot.

After years of trying to get our friends to take a trip together it finally happened. It was a week prior to John’s Bachelor party in Vegas this summer when we found out that they had a change of heart and wanted to get married in Mexico. The wedding was originally scheduled to be in Georgetown but viola we all ended up in Riviera Maya Mexico. John was the last bachelor among our little group of friends and I was just happy that he found someone to share the rest of his life with. Throw in hanging out with your closest friends in Mexico for 5 days and I was ecstatic!

My wife and I were checking the weather days before and noticed that they were calling for rain 3 out of the 5 days that we would be there. We took off from Baltimore and arrived in Cancun slightly after 1pm to what appeared to be a torrential downpour.  We had a lot of turbulence on the descent into Cancun’s airport and at one point a friend yelled out pretty loudly an “R” rated word.  Granted my heart raced a bit at what felt like a 30 foot drop but I still smile when I think about that moment on the flight.    Thankfully as soon as we pulled up to the resort the sun started to come out. Once in the room we changed clothing and headed back out to meet up with our friends. The El Dorado Spa & Resort was absolutely gorgeous and you could tell this resort catered primarily to couples and newlyweds. On the walk to meet up with everyone else at one of the restaurants we could see a wedding being held right there on the beach.

This was my first time meeting Kristeen’s father and while talking to him he revealed he is also a photographer. Well the bromance just grew from there lol. We ended up talking about all things photography until 1 am in the morning. It was a relief knowing that not only was the hotel photographer going to be covering the wedding but the bride’s father as well. I figured between the two of us that they would get plenty of photographs documenting not just their wedding day but what occurred during the entire trip! To ensure I actually appeared in some of the photographs I made sure to give a few mini lessons to my friends wife on how to use my camera and shoot manually. I have to say she was a fast learner :-). Below are some of the images from our first day there.

The camera bag stayed attached to me for most of the trip lol.

The bride sure is pretty in pink.

 

http://www.marcusdilanophotography.com

3 thoughts on “Day One at the El Dorado Resort & Spa

  1. My friends and I have been blessed with wonderful women as our wives. What I think is special about our little group is that the guys were all close friends. To have our wives truly like one another is somewhat rare. Normally there is one guy or girl in a group that a spouse may not care for but that is not the case with this bunch. I absolutely love all of my friends wives and look forward to spending time almost as much as I do with my boys :-). When Kristeen and John were dating I”ll never forget the small random gifts that she gave my children. She has such a big heart and my buddy is just as lucky as she is to have her in his life. I took over 2000 images while down there and I am happy that I did because there were many great memories created on this trip!

    I hope you had a happy Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

