Auto Show at the Washington D.C. Convention Center

A few weeks ago I took my son to the Car Show in Washington DC. I had never gone to the big car shows in the past and I guess I never had a desire to go. As a child I went to the museums and the National Zoo as well as all the other sites in and around the DC area but for some reason we never went to the car show.

I was looking for something to do with my son and that morning I saw a commercial advertising the Car Shows last weekend in town.  I called up a close  buddy of mine and he met me at the convention center there with his daughter.   After spending 20 minutes driving in circles looking for street parking or a parking garage I finally lucked out and found a parking spot in China Town. Maybe I should not say lucked out because they charged $30 to park for three-hour increments lol.

My favorite vehicles at the car show was the Lotus and two of the Korean luxury vehicles such as the K900 and the Equus. I still wonder why Hyundai and Kia never decided to brand their luxury line with a different name. I mean Toyota has Lexus, Honda has Acura, Volkswagen has Audi etc etc. I think it is going to be very difficult to sell vehicles priced at 65k and above under the Hyundai and Kia name. For what they are offering in both the Eqqus and the K900 it would cost well over 90k if they had a German nameplate.

I thought we would see more exotics such as Lambo’s and Ferrari’s but they did not have a booth at this show. After walking around for a little over two hours and looking at all the cars we called it a day. I thought it would be a little more exciting but I guess I am not really an auto enthusiast so I was actually a little bored after a while. My son had a good time racing the remote control vehicles around a track and he caused a major wreck while trying to overtake a few vehicles. I was pretty proud of the aggressive moves he made while trying to win the race. In the end he placed 4th but he was also racing against a few adult drivers :-).

http://www.marcusdilanophotography.com
Howard County Wedding & Portrait Photographers

2 thoughts on “Auto Show at the Washington D.C. Convention Center

  1. Great photos. On of the problems of photographing events like these are that there are so many people around. I like to take photos of really old cars and have gone to a few old car shows, but the people are a distraction to taking photos if you’re wanting to take photos of the vehicles. But it’s a great place to take photos of people. 🙂

    • I agree completely! Quite a few times I decided to quit trying to photograph the cars. I put my 70-200 on and decided to photograph a few people but then I thought I’m at a car show so I would switch back to my other lens lol. I swear I did this at least 3 times while I was there. I ended up just putting the camera away 🙂

Leave a Reply

