Bald Eagle at the National Zoo

This photo was taken at the National Zoo in Washington DC last weekend. Since we were celebrating my birthday I got to decide where the family would go for the day. Thankfully it was a beautiful day with temperatures in the low 60`s and the animals were pretty active.

When I saw the Bald Eagle below I was excited. I have never seen one this close before much less photographed one. When I started editing the image and I saw the fence in the background, I felt a little weird. Even now I can’t put my finger on why but seeing this majestic creature trapped in a cage just felt a little wrong. If I had wings I surely would not want to be limited to where I could fly.

This is the first time that I have contemplated are zoo’s good or bad and who are they really for? Are they really sanctuaries or prisons? I mean some of these animals are designed to run for miles at a time right? In any case I am glad that I had the opportunity to take this photo.

Howard County Wedding & Portrait Photographers

National Zoo

One thought on “Bald Eagle at the National Zoo

Leave a Reply

