Snapshots of our Talented MUA

Aryn in action πŸ™‚

When I started out shooting weddings and portraits with Marcus. I remember he always talked about the value of a good makeup artist especially when it comes to creative portrait sessions with models. In the beginning when we knew I had some spare time, I would reach out to a model that I wanted to work with and setup a session. It was really not until I started shooting a lot of weddings that I realized the value of a talented makeup artist.

Makeup artist are trained to study their subject and enhance their best features, smooth out complexions as well as add definition to the eyes, lips & brows. It is up to the photographer to get the lighting right and retouch the images but there are limits and the less Photoshop needed the better.

When we put out a casting call last November for the boudoir sessions that we held in January, we were contacted by three makeup artist of which one was Aryn Wilson. From the get go I really liked Aryn’s professionalism and the thoughtful questions she asked about the shoot. I admit to being a little nervous when I realized she would have to drive over 60 miles to get to the session but my gut told me she was the one we wanted to work with.

On the day of the session it was pouring down rain and more than half of the models arrived later and in some cases much later than scheduled but not Aryn. She had one of the longest drives yet she arrived 15 minutes early. She was personable and very easy to work with and even though the schedule we originally provided her was not being followed she did her part with a smile and the day ended up being a success for us. Since then we have worked with her on a few other sessions and she will be joining us for a few more shoots we have planned for later this year. Just this past weekend she did a excellent job creating the look I was going for with my Vampire Shoot.

In April, Aryn graduated from the Paul Mitchell School of Delaware and I went up and photographed their fashion show. I was amazed to see a lot of the creations from Aryn as well as the other talented students that were attending the school. Thanks again Aryn, your assistance has been greatly appreciated and we love working with you! We wish you a lot of success and if we can be of assistance to you don’t hesitate to ask :-).

Aryn Wilson

http://www.marcusdilanophotography.com
Howard County Maryland Wedding & Portrait Photographers

6 thoughts on “Snapshots of our Talented MUA

  1. I love this post; I just don’t like the link to “before x after”… of course, it shows how powerful make-up is, and some of those transformations are quite good; but at least half of looks quite nice and then they look like plastic queens in the end. πŸ˜€ Plus I’m sure you can see the retouching on their skin (not all of them, luckily). πŸ™‚
    But that’s just a side thing.
    It’s great you found such a talented lady to collaborate with you on sessions, and she looks lovely with the purple hairstyle πŸ™‚

    • Ya know what. I was on the fence about using that link. You have made up my mind to remove it… I did notice that a good 4 or so of the images looked to be photo shopped to enhance the make job.. Link now gone πŸ™‚

      • Sorry, I didn’t want to change your article… but sure make-up artists can do better than that πŸ™‚

      • No worries and I realize that. I was on the fence about sharing that particular link due to the use of photo shop on top of the make up that way applied. I just had a difficult time finding a better example.

Leave a Reply

