Why I Love Photographing Weddings

Howard County Maryland Wedding & Portrait Photographers

Well this weekend was a rather difficult weekend for me. Two weeks ago I mentioned that I received a subpoena to appear for the case involving my father’s murder which occurred 6 years ago. The guy involved with the crime wanted to challenge the sentence given to him since at the time he was only 17 years old. On Friday I had to appear and speak and explain why I did not think his sentence should be reduced. His entire family was there for proceeding and it was rather difficult hearing them plead for some leniency from the judge. The entire time his mother is crying and praying for her son. I empathized with his family but I told the judge that they could still communicate with their son. I can’t. I then went on to explain what my father meant to me as well as to his community, church and friends. To make a long story short it was a miserable day for me. After I had my say he looked me in the eye with tears in his eyes and stated that he did not kill my father. A part of me believes that yes he was not the main principal involved in the crime. But he helped in some way and he was there. Maybe he helped wrap my father’s body in the carpet as well as put him in the closet? I don’t know and I don’t care. I am going to continue trying to move on and in five years’ time when he has another opportunity to challenge the ruling, I may not attend. Anyhow this is the last time I will mention it here.

The one thing I am thankful for is that in the back of my mind I knew that the next day I would be photographing a wedding. You see Marcus and I have full-time jobs and although we wish we could make a living shooting weddings and portraits, we fear that ship has passed. We are both in our mid-thirties, married with children, have mortgages, car loans and college tuitions to think about. So although we charge for our services it is not our main source of income nor can we put in the work needed to transition into full-time photographers. Our time is simply limited and frankly, we don’t have the guts to do it :-).

While we were on our way to dinner for father’s day I mentioned to my wife that while I was in the courthouse I allowed my mind to drift to the wedding I would be photographing the next day. She told me that it sounds like I may use weddings to escape from reality. I thought about it for a few minutes and I realized she could be right. A large part of the reason I love photographing weddings is that everyone in attendance is genuinely happy. There are smiles, hugs and laughter all around you. The tears shed are usually tears of joy. As wedding photographers you can’t help but to feed off of all the positive energy and happiness in the room. I know that I am not the only one that feels this way too.

Last spring at Paul and Sophie’s wedding, Sophie’s daughter was giving a speech that was very touching. I remember seeing one of the vendors peeking from behind a wall and she had tears in her eyes while listening to the speech. I am so glad that I snapped the shutter and caught that moment. That is one of my favorite images from that particular wedding.

Each wedding we photograph we get to take home those memories and re-live them anytime we want. I mean the photographs are just a click away. To me that’s priceless, and I am pretty sure many other weddings photographers can relate to what I am trying to say.

Below are a few images from this Ralph and Carlita’s Wedding which occurred on Saturday held at Virtue Feed & Grain in Old Town Alexandria Virginia.

4 thoughts on “Why I Love Photographing Weddings

  1. I’m so sorry you had to go through such a difficult day. I can’t even imagine how hard that would be. I think your wife is right – your wedding photography can completely transport you to another dimension. A sort of “happy place.” I do the same thing with my photography. I go through periods of high anxiety and when that happens, I grab my camera and get out in nature to immerse myself in the beauty around me. Its made such a difference in my life and I can tell it is a huge difference in your life.

    • Thank you Maralee. On Wednesday evening I contacted a friend of mine that I have photographed in the past to see if she would be willing to reschedule our portrait session from Sunday morning to Saturday morning. I just knew that after Friday I would want to shoot, shoot, shoot. So there I was up at 6am ready to take my friends portraits and then head off to do the wedding a few hours after that. It helped me to put what I went through on Friday in the back of my mind.

      At times during the early morning portrait session, Lisa and I were laughing so hard. I would tell her to give me a serious look and she would just burst out laughing. Ya know I could not help laugh right along with her. Those moments are also precious to me and they helped immensely. I found that “happy place” within 10 minutes of picking up my camera. Then knowing that I had a wedding to shoot a few hours later helped. I was dead tired when I got back home on Saturday afternoon but I felt good. I quickly downloaded the images and went through all of them with a smile on my face……

  2. Wow. Life isn’t easy, nor is it always sunshine and rainbows. But I completely understand your ‘escaping’ into weddings. One of the reasons I love being an Officiant is because I get a front row seat to more love, happiness, excitement, support, and joy over and over and over again than the rare glimpse most people get to experience. It reminds me there is still good left in this world. It reminds me there’s hope. There’s been quite a few times I’ve teared up….it’s hard not to! But I’ll gladly have and see happy tears any day. It’s also the reason I appreciate the photographers who do such an amazing job capturing all those special moments and for sharing them with me. Often times I do go back through all of the photos and smile, chuckle, and laugh as i remember exactly what was going on at that particular moment. So thank you for being passionate, extremely talented, and for sharing all of that with all of us.

    • Hey Tamara :-). Thank you for the compliment! Marcus and I really do appreciate it. You said it better than I did ” a front row seat to more love, happiness, excitement, support, and joy over and over and over again than the rare glimpse most people get to experience”. There is a lot of stress photographing a wedding but I love it. Having to anticipate a hug between a father and his daughter, or when you think the bride may smile at something someone says to her. It’s a huge rush when you nail a shot! Over the years we have been blessed to have some wonderful clients. We are keeping our fingers crossed that it will remain that way.

      Marcus and I met each other at our first job out of college 12 years ago. We have been close friends ever since then. We are the same age, and we were also born a few days a part. I typically write the majority of the blog posts but due to all of our similarities I can definitely say he feels the same way!

Leave a Reply

